And Now Lent Begins…

So, after all that pancake scoffing, meat-eating and general food-loving, Lent has arrived to stop us from popping. But, there are two reasons on why I contradict myself on what I just wrote:

  1. You don’t have to give up food.
  2. Lent’s purpose isn’t really to stop us popping, it just results in that.

Anyway, I always personalise Lent. I give up something for the whole 40 days and 40 nights but three weeks before Easter, I start properly. I’m a vegetarian for the whole three weeks, but one of those weeks I’ll be a vegan (it’s hard, but I have done it before.)

As for my long-term giver-upper, I’m giving up chocolate. I eat some form of chocolate every day and I think giving it up for Lent is not only a great way for me to give up something for the whole period, but a great way for me to improve my health. However, it doesn’t mean I can’t eat cakes, biscuits etc. I’m just giving up the normal chocolate that comes in an oblong packet and anything that contains chocolate, I can’t eat… wish me luck! (However I never like saying that because it kind of puts a force on the reader. So don’t wish me luck if you don’t want to.)

If you’re giving up something for Lent, I wish you luck (but you don’t have to return the favour, the luck was just out of my own want.) I think it’s highly admirable for someone to be doing it and it’s especially great if giving up something from Ash Wednesday (today.)

Good luck with whatever you give up (if giving up. If not – that’s fine, too.)

Pany.

4 thoughts on “And Now Lent Begins…

Leave a Reply

